sunrays

Just another WordPress.com site

Monsoon Nostalgia

on March 14, 2012

It’s been raining a lot here. I left work yesterday evening and it was pouring. I leave for work today morning and it’s pouring. Now, I don’t have an umbrella. (I always promise myself  I’ll buy one when I get wet but then I don’t see the point when it’s bright and sunny – yeah, the grasshopper in ‘The Ant and The Grasshopper’.) Anyway, this means I have been getting a bit wet every time and also, a bit nostalgic.

It’s been pouring here like it pours in Mumbai during monsoons. A white curtain of rain. The  energetic rhythm of the raindrops. The happy dance of the leaves on trees as they have a bath. Colourful umbrellas dotting the roads. Umbrella-less people (I am not the only one) running from shelter to shelter. Nostalgia.

But this isn’t Mumbai so a lot of things are different. I do not have to guess the depth of little ponds that form everywhere. Nor do I have to find little islands here and there and play some weird ‘land and water’ game every time I want to cross the roads. I do not have to worry about trains coming to a halt as the tracks flood. I do not miss any of that.

But I do miss this.

Sitting by the window with a hot mug of coffee and watching the dark clouds loom over the sea. Waking up snuggled up in your blanket and falling asleep to the music of the rain.

Rain Clouds loom over Worli Sea Face, Mumbai

Rain Clouds loom over Worli Sea Face, Mumbai

The sea spray in your face. The wind whipping your wet hair around. Getting drenched with your friends. Jumping into one of those ponds that form everywhere and spraying everyone with water. Throwing caution to every health rule in the book and having chaat and gola by the road. Sneezing the rest of the day thanks to your wet hair but miraculously not falling ill (or sometimes falling ill).

Sea Waves during Monsoon at Marine Drive

Sea Waves during Monsoon at Marine Drive

Mumbai turns magical in monsoon. It’s the breath of life after the burning hot summer. It’s the joy of children playing in the rain. It’s the child inside you as you sometimes close your umbrella just to get drenched wet. It’s that one thing the city loves and hates equally but just can’t live without (literally). It’s the romance that was portrayed in ‘Wake Up Sid’.

Worli Sea Face- The Best Place to enjoy Monsoon in Mumbai

Worli Sea Face- The Best Place to enjoy Monsoon in Mumbai (Photo Credit: Vishal Hanmattekar)

You hate it, you love it. It fills you with joy, it depresses you. But every year, you count down to that day in June when dark clouds will loom over the sea.

Leave a Reply

