sunrays

Just another WordPress.com site

A Touch of Glamour

on February 28, 2012

Building a solar powered car and racing it at the World Solar Challenge in Australia has been the best thing I have done as yet in my University life. At the risk of sounding geeky, it taught a lot about engineering and how theory is never practical. Secondly, it is the craziest most adventurous thing I have done – including hiking in the Himalyas. Six days on the road, roughing it out like some Nat Geo reporter – now that is the fun side of engineering! Thirdly, all the photo shoots and dinners in celebration of our achievement!

The latest photo shoot was for the University brochure. I thought it would be a quick affair – you come, they tell you to smile with your awesome car, snap you and say good bye. After all, engineers are far flung from glamour. Damn, I can be stupid.

A professional make-up artist spent at least 20 minutes on my face and hair giving me a what I can only say was a Singaporean-style make up. I swear I could not recognize myself in the mirror – all my Indian features had been hidden under foundation and eye shadow. But I loved what she did to my hair! She poked a few pins here and there and let them flow – soft and wavy. And to think I take ages to comb my hair.

And then we posed. One for the solar car team – me in the car poking around testing some electrical parts. Another two as a student model – showing happy students around campus going to class, discussing their courses or just hanging around.

It was one hell of a day! Every now and then, the lady would run up touching up our hair or eye liner. And then the cameras would click! I won’t deny it. I loved being the star that day!

3 responses to “A Touch of Glamour

  1. Arpita says:

    nice writing… and a good blend of the tech and the glamour world. whoever said mech girls are not glamorous need to come out of their delusion!

  2. Wow, superb weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The whole look of your web site is great, as neatly as the content material!

Leave a Reply

